A special dedication

April 16, 2008

After last week’s blog on the three-sport athlete, I received a comment from a classmate that I had used “he” to describe all three-sport athletes. In reality, this athlete can be a “she” as well and I apologize for not making that distinction in my blog. There are many high school girls that particpate in three sports while they are in school.

In fact, my sister is one of them as she plays soccer in the fall, basketball in the winter, and golf, yes golf in the spring. My sister, who hadn’t kicked a soccer ball from the age of 6 to 16 joined the soccer team during her junior year and this past year as a senior was one of the team’s best defenders. She has always been one of the top players in her conference for basketball as she has been recruited by Division III Fairleigh Dickinson of Florham Park. The last two years she has picked up the game of golf and has improved a ton over that time. My point being that if anyone should have recognized the abiltiies of girls as three-sport athletes it should have been me as I could have looked right at my family for proof.

Title IX has opened the door for many girls who may never had a chance to compete in sports in high school and at the collegiate level. So, in a special dedication, my blog this week and the next will chronicle some of the top women athletes the world has seen.

Leave a Reply

