Frisbee Fanatic??? Not ME!

September 4, 2008

At my time at Quinnipiac University I have sat through and learned during a tough Calculus class, I have pondered and understood the great thinkers like Socrates and Plato, and I have even sat through a class that was totally about Karl Marx. During all these classes I have been able to learn the concepts and understand why Calculus works like it does and why men like Socrates, Plato and Marx thought like they did. However, there is one thing I might never understand about college. It has nothing to do with the classroom or any organization I have been a part of. So what is it that i can’t understand… College students obsession with the game Ultimate Frisbee.

Before i took my first steps onto our Hamden campus, I had never even heard of ultimate frisbee. I probably had thrown a frisbee maybe a half a dozen times in my entire life. And in all honesty, I couldn’t throw a frisbee if my life depended on it. It wobbles for the first half of its flight and then somehow magically straightens out in the end. I’ve seen a frisbee thrown 10 different ways and I couldn’t do any of them. I think my dog would laugh at me if I tried to throw a frisbee for him to catch.

I don’t know why, but I have never understood the fascination with the frisbee, especially with college kids. Was everyone given some pill at orientation that made you love ultimate frisbee? Was I in the bathroom when they were handing them out?

Maybe it’s my addiction to sports that involve contact that can explain my reasoning for not being a frisbee fanatic. I love playing sports like football where you get tackled, basketball where you can get thrown to the floor and fouled every time down court and soccer where I have been headbutted enough to cause brain damage (which if you asked the people who know me, they’d say that i definitely have lost a few brain cells).

Sports like tennis volleyball, and ultimate frisbee don’t seem as exciting because of their lack of contact. However, before you frisbee fanatics, bombard me with comments about how great frisbee is and that I don’t know what I am talking about, read this first. The next time you are organizing a game of your beloved sport leave me a comment of when and where, and I will show up and pop my ultimate frisbee cherry and try to play the game you enjoy. But just one warning, if you invite me to play, you probably won’t want me on your team.

Leave a Reply

